Wendy Elizabeth

Gender Female
Birth Date Apr 08, 2012
Age 7 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Program Country



Zacualpa is a small but busy village in a mountain valley.  The village is inhabited by both Quiché Indians and Ladinos (those with mixed European ancestry). The prevalent language is Spanish.  Families in this village live in one or two room homes generally constructed of either wood or adobe.  Although many of the people are farmers, the village contains several small specialized stores, a body repair shop for buses, mechanics, plumbers and many other small-town tradesmen.   It also has a large open-air market which serves much of the area.

Hello, my name is Wendy Elizabeth Chingo Luis.  I was born on April 8, 2012.  I am a healthy child, and I walk about five minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have two sisters.  My father’s name is Tomas, but he does not live with us, nor does he help us with the expenses.  My mother’s name is Santos and she works as a domestic employee.  We live in the house that belonged to my grandfather.  The house is part wood boards and the other part is tin sheet metal.  It has a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have water, but we do not have electricity.  We travel to the coast at the end of the year to work in the coffee harvest.  We have a few chickens.  I am in the first grade.  My favorite color is light blue and my favorite animal is the giraffe.  The foods that I like best are apples and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to study.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Wendy Elizabeth Chingo Luis

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options