Dominga


Gender Female
Birth Date Feb 27, 2016
Age 3 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PA1976

Pasojoc is an area located high on the side of a mountain in the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is more than a two-hour walk to the nearest market town of Zacualpa.  Pasojoc is a farming area where corn and black beans, the staple elements in their diet, are the major corps.  The Quiché Indians who inhabit this area trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiché - however, Spanish is becoming more common.  Very little money ever changes hands in this area as they live on a barter system.

Hello, my name is Dominga Jimon Garcia. I was born on February 27, 2016 and I am three years old. I am a basically healthy little girl. I am not attending school because I am still too young, so I spend my time playing with dolls. My favorite color is pink and my favorite animal is the dog. The food that I like to eat the most is beef soup. My favorite fruit is the papaya. I have two brothers and seven sisters. Seven of my siblings are registered in the feeding program and I come with them. We walk about two hours to get to the feeding program. My father’s name is Esteban Jimon and he is a farmer. He grows corn and black beans for our consumption. He usually works as a day laborer. My mother’s name is a housewife. She raises some domestic animals that she sells when we have some needs. My whole family travels to the coast to pick coffee beans from October to December. We live in our own house made of adobe with a tin sheet roof and dirt floor. The house has three rooms, a separate kitchen and running water. We do not have electricity, so we use candles for lighting at night. My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Dominga Jimon Garcia

Translated by: Lidia Vasquez / AAC Guatemala

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00