Gender Female
Birth Date Jan 15, 2010
Age 10 years old
Sponsorship Type
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country



Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Aura Jimon Calachij.  I was born on January 15, 2010 and I am nine years old.  I am a healthy child.  I have three sisters and three brothers.  Two of them also attend the feeding program and we walk 30 minutes to get to the program.  My father’s name is Pedro and he works as a cargador (person who carries heavy packages or bundles for other people) in Guatemala City.  He comes home to see us once a month and leaves money for our expenses.  My mother’s name is Hilaria and she is a housewife and also takes care of my siblings and me.  Our house is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have water but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for lighting.  I am in 2nd grade.  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is the dog.  The foods that I like best are apples and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to play ball with my brothers.  My family attends a Catholic church.

With much love and many blessings,

Aura Jimon Calachij

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options