Sergio Mauricio


Gender Male
Birth Date Jan 19, 2013
Age 6 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0037                                     

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Sergio Mauricio Riz Chic.  I was born on January 19, 2013 and I am six years old.  I am basically a healthy child.  I have one brother and one sister.  My sister also attends the feeding program and we have to walk about 1 hour to get to the program.  My father’s name is Fernando and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to cut cane and to clean the weeds from the coffee plants.  My mother’s name is Maria and she is a housewife.  She also has some domestic animals that she is raising.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tin roof and a dirt floor.  We have one big room and a separate kitchen.  We do not have running water or electricity.  We get our water from a small river with a hose.  We use candles for lighting.  We have nine hens, one pig, two dogs and a cat.  I am not in school yet, so I spend my time playing with my balls and toy cars.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are mangoes and beans with sausage.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Sergio Mauricio Riz Chic   

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00