Wilson Antonio


Gender Male
Birth Date Dec 24, 2008
Age 10 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Pasojoc III
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

PT0022                                               

Pasojoc III, where your child lives, is located in an extremely remote area of the mountains in Quiche, Guatemala.  Life in this area is very difficult and very isolated from the outside world.  It is a 3-hour walk to the nearest market town.  The people who inhabit the area are Quiche Indians who can trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  They normally speak an Indian dialect called Quiche, however, Spanish is becoming more common.  The climate is basically warm, but it can get very cold at night.  Houses in this area are typically constructed of adobe with tin sheet or tile roofs and dirt floors.  Pasojoc III is an area rich with natural resources.  It is a farming area where the inhabitants grow staples such as corn, beans and other types of vegetables.  Many families also raise domestic animals such as sheep, goats, cows and chickens.  Many of the families travel to the coast for several months each year to find work cutting cane or coffee.  Sadly, many of the children do not go to school because of lack of economic resources and because of the sheer distance they would have to walk to reach school.  As a result, the majority of the people are unable to read or write.  Many of the teenagers leave home at an early age to search for employment in other areas in Guatemala.

Hello, my name is Wilson Antonio Tzoy Calachij.  I was born on December 24, 2008 and I am ten years old.  I am a basically healthy child.  I have two brothers and four sisters.  Three of my siblings also attend the feeding program.  My mother brings me to the feeding program and we walk about 2 ½ hours to get there.  My mother’s name is Catalina and she is a housewife.  She also has some domestic animals that she takes care of.  My father’s name is Ruben and he is a farmer.  He also travels to the coast to work during the coffee harvest.  We own the house in which we live.  It is adobe with a tile roof and a dirt floor.  It is one room with a separate kitchen made of wood planks.  We have water, but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for lighting.  We have some hens, two dogs, a cat and a cow.  I am in 2nd grade.  My favorite color is blue and my favorite animal is the cat.  The foods that I like best are bananas and fried chicken.  In my free time, I like to play ball.  Currently, my family does not attend church.

With much love and many blessings,

Wilson Antonio Tzoy Calachij

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00