Marlon Oswaldo


Gender Male
Birth Date Feb 18, 2012
Age 7 years old
Sponsorship Type
Child
Attends Program
Tunajá
Program Country
Guatemala

Biography

TU2894

Tunajá is an area of the state of Quiché, Guatemala.  The inhabitants are Quiché Indians who trace their ancestral roots to the ancient Mayan civilization.  The prevalent language is the Indian dialect - Quiché.  The people are either farmers or shepherds and live off the fruits of their labors.  Very little money ever changes hands as they use a barter system.  Public education is available - however, most families cannot afford it.  Electricity and running water are not available in most of the area.

Hello, my name is Marlon Oswaldo Grave.  I was born on February 18, 2012.  I am a healthy child and I walk about 30 minutes to get to the feeding program.  I have three sisters.  We live with my maternal grandparents.  My mother’s name is Margarita and she is a housewife.  She also weaves typical items to sell and help with our expenses.  Unfortunately, my father left us and we have no communication with him.  Our house has two rooms made of adobe with a tin roof and a cement floor.  We cook in a small open area outside the house that is covered with tin.  We have water but we do not have electricity.  We use candles for lighting.  My grandfather works as a farmer and he is the one who helps my mother with our expenses.  I am in 1st grade.  My favorite color is yellow and my favorite animal is the horse.  The foods that I like best are papayas and traditional chicken soup.  In my free time, I like to play ball and toy cars.  My family attends an Adventist church.

With much love and many blessings,

Marlon Oswaldo Grave

Translated by: Edwina Lyons/AAC Missionary

Sponsorship Options

Recurring

£18.00

£216.00

£72.00

£20.00